Loading your data. This may take a few seconds. Cancel

Artist Profile


The Listening Device

The Listening Device was formed in September 2004 by Harry Worcester, Janet Thompson, and Philip Legende, who then spent the next Six months writing the material which would eventually become their Debut Album (Scented Waters).

The band are perhaps somewhat older than your average aspiring rock stars but united by a love of music and an unswerving belief in the rock 'n roll dream.

Two years since its inception the Listening Device's second album Human Gold finally sees the light of day.

As ever the music does not fit into easy categorisation.Jools Holland described it as "somewhere between Ray Charles and Nick Cave", whilst other observers have suggested it is "what would happen if Tom Waits became lead singer of Coldplay" and "Bruce Springsteen for the white collar worker".

Lyrics on the new album do not disappoint ,once again covering a wide subject matter including erotic fairy stories, the legacy of Tony Blair and the autobiographical "The Day I Became A God". There is also a track exploring the hitherto unexplained concept of why the Listening Device fan base is bigger in outer space than here on earth.

All the songs are again written by keyboardist Janet Thompson and lead vocalist Harry Worcester but, apart from drummer Phil Legende, the rest of the line up has changed since the first album. The contrasting guitar styles of Neil "Flash" Etheridge and Andy "Riff" Pett, along with the rock solid bass of Steve Lamb, give the band a slightly harder edge and there is also beguiling support from backing vocalists Tiggy York and Emma Kemp. Production duties fall to Janet Thompson, assisted by Phil Legende.

There is also additional production from Johnson Somerset, who has worked with Steve Winwood and Bryan Ferry amongst others, and he sprinkles some of his manic fairy dust into the mix.

Human Gold Cover
  • Human Gold
  • Rock
  • The Listening Device
  • 04/22/2008
  • Human Gold
Liner Notes: The Listening Device are: Harry Worcester - Lead Vocals Janet Thompson - Keyboard and Backing Vocals Philip Legende - Drums and Percussion Andy 'Riff' Pett - Lead, Rhythm, Acoustic and Lap Steel Guitar Neil 'Flash' Etheridge - Lead and Rhythm Guitar Steve Lamb - Bass Theresa 'Tiggy' York - Backing Vocals Emma Kemp - Backing Vocals Music and lyrics written by Janet Thompson and Harry Worcester Additional production by Johnson Somerset Arranged and produced by Janet Thompson Assistant producer: Philip Legende Recorded at The Music Workshop, Potterne, Devizes, Wiltshire Engineered and mixed by Pete Lamb 2007 CD Mastered & manufactured at www.sound-discs.co.uk Cover illustration by Nikki Bruton Artwork by Simone Williams www.thelisteningdevice.com © The Listening Device 2008 All rights reserved. All copyright rules apply.
  1. The Day I Became A God
  2. Morning Rise
  3. Phone
  4. Homefires
  5. Human Gold
  6. Dancer
  7. Gothic Wedding
  8. The Listening Device
  9. My Legacy
  10. Instinct
  11. The Well
  12. Soldier
Scented Waters Cover
  • Scented Waters
  • Rock
  • The Listening Device
  • 06/01/2005
  • Scented Waters
Liner Notes: Harry Worcester - Lead Vocals Janet Thompson - Keyboard & backing vocals Philip Legende - Drums & percussion Matt Pound - Acoustic Guitar Andy Skiterall - Electric guitars, nylon string guitar on A New Life Ian Styles - Bass guitar Music & Lyrics written by Janet Thompson & Harry Worcester Arranged and produced by Philip Legende Assistant producers: Janet Thompson, Harry Worcester & Pete Lamb Recorded at: The Music Workshop, Potterne, Devizes, Wiltshire Engineered & mixed by Pete Lamb April/May 2005 Cover artwork by Nikki Bruton
  1. Living a Lie
  2. 1992
  3. September Sun
  4. Feel The Light
  5. Magic Potion
  6. Faded Man
  7. Hog Tied
  8. Hippi V The Rest of The World
  9. Rage Against The Wind
  10. A New Life