Loading your data. This may take a few seconds. Cancel

Artist Profile

The Washington Projects

The Washington Projects

Under the context of The Washington Projects, brother/sister duo Jekob & Rachael Washington merge insightful hip-hop, scintillating soul, rippling R&B, old school funk and pure bred pop. It’s an astonishingly inventive merger that’s given them instant accessibility steeped in street credibility, while breaking down boundaries more than any other eclectic troupe in recent memory. And while this fitting moniker may appear to be a new force on the horizon, the pair previously comprised two thirds of the Word/Warner Brothers recording group SoulJahz, who took the industry by storm in the early 2000s with a jaw dropping spread of radio singles, press acclaim and prominent appearances.

For starters, the troupe performed alongside the lauded (and diverse) likes of No Doubt, Nelly, Counting Crows, Ja Rule, Ashanti, Garbage, Boyz II Men and Erykah Badu (to name a few) on a cross country tour in support of its major label debut The Fault Is History. That project also set a streak of precedents, making SoulJahz the first new hip-hop/funk/soul act in history to write, produce, executive produce and co-engineer a major label album, not to mention group member Rachael becoming the youngest composer/producer/songwriter in the history of Warner Brothers Records (she was 17, beating out Prince at 19). Extensive features followed on CNN Headline News, E!, Billboard, The WB, plus a slot on Sessions@AOL beside Christina Aguilera, 50 Cent, Shania Twain, Faith Hill and Red Hot Chili Peppers. But even with the tremendous amount of buzz and overwhelming fanfare, record label red tape soon wrapped itself around the burgeoning band, putting an extreme delay on what would’ve been its sophomore CD.

“Basically we were about to begin our new record after being gone on tour for at least a year and a half on that first record, but the entire staff of our label flipped upside down,” Jekob recalls of the incredibly trying time. “When it came time to talk with the new cats, they had a different thought process on where our sound needed to go and there ended up being a lot of problems. We basically had our second record shelved entirely and spent the next several years trying to get out of our contract.”

Despite the lack of a new CD, the band took trips to Iraq in 2005 and 2006 to entertain troops, though back home in America, their lawyers and a constantly switching staff of label executives were waging war of their own. Eventually the group was allowed to exit its deal, but at the expense of leaving the SoulJahz moniker in the label’s hands.

“As all of this went down, we literally retreated to Hawaii for a time because we have family out there, which were the bonds that helped keep us going,” Jekob contends. “But it actually all turned out to be a very good thing because we recharged our batteries and the break helped give us a fresh perspective and new start. SoulJahz has a certain amount of recognition as a brand, but The Washington Projects is a name that’s even closer to our hearts because no one can ever take that one away from us!”

With the battle flames dying down, The Washington Projects hit the studio for its debut in this format Commanders of the Resistance, an enthralling soundtrack of hope covering just as many relevant themes as it does sonic spectrums. A quick combing of the set list indicates everything from the club thumping “Crazy” to the neo soul shuffle of “Deliverance” and the rap/R&B attack of “Take It To the Streets.” The project also possesses endless trenches of lyrical depth, such as the relationship based “Zephyr Wings,” the empowering “Diamonds” and the love song from Jekob to his wife “I Will Stay With You.”

No matter what the topic, Commanders of the Resistance connects with class and cohesion on all levels, while reaffirming the passions of its extraordinarily gifted players. Fans and newcomers alike will have the chance to judge for themselves on an extensive tour. And similar to the studio, expect additional genre fusing action on stage, sure to bring the latest chapter in Jekob & Rachael’s colorful careers to additionally vibrant life.

Tour Dates

Artist Country State City Venue Date
The Washington Projects United States California San Diego Grace Fellowship 496 S. 3rd st. El Cajon 92019 Jun 26, 2010
Commanders of the Resistance Cover
  • Commanders of the Resistance
  • Hip Hop/Rap, R&B/Soul
  • The Washington Projects
  • 10/09/2007
  • Commanders of the Resistance
Liner Notes:
  1. Move
  2. Diamonds
  3. Take It to the Streets
  4. You Are My World
  5. Love Is Like an Ocean
  6. She Can't Love You
  7. Zephyr Wings
  8. Deliverance
  9. Crazy
  10. Time
  11. Outside Your Window
  12. I Will Stay With You
  13. You Talk Too Much
  14. That Girl
  15. If I Can't Have You
  16. Tired of Livin'
Christmas Cover
  • Christmas
  • Pop, R&B/Soul
  • The Washington Projects
  • 09/03/2008
  • Christmas
Liner Notes: STAY A WHILE - Music written & Produced by Je'kob Washington for Cap'n Cookem Productions Guitar parts co/written by Lucas Hitch Lyrics Written by Je'kob & Rachael Washington THANK YOU FOR CHRISTMAS - Music written & Produced by Je'kob Washington for Cap'n Cookem Productions Lyrics Written by Je'kob & Rachael Washington THIS CHRISTMAS - Music written & Produced by Je'kob Washington for Cap'n Cookem Productions Lyrics Written by Je'kob Washington All instrumentation written & played by Je'kob Washington except for "Stay A While" - Guitar co/written by Lucas Hitch.
  1. Stay A While
  2. Thank You For Christmas
  3. This Christmas
  4. Stay A While (Instrumental)
  5. Thank You For Christmas (Instrumental)
  6. This Christmas (Instrumental)